James Meehan High School

Learn today Lead tomorrow

Telephone02 9605 4395


Year 7 at JMHS

Year 7 Foundation stage

Incoming Year 7 - How to prepare for High School at JMHS

Welcome to our incoming Year 7. We look forward to having you join James Meehan High School. This year our Orientation Day was a little different but we hope you enjoyed your time with us.

To help you prepare for the years ahead, here is a reminder of what and who you need to know around James Meehan High School.

Year 7 Orientation Day - Video suite

Click the link you want to watch:

James Meehan High School virtual tour

Year 7 Advisor - Meet Mr Casanova

Middle School Team - Meet the 2022 Year 7 Teachers


The James Meehan Uniform Shop operates on the school site and will be open during the lead-up to Day 1 2022.   For more information click the link

James Meehan High School uniform explained (PDF 1.89MB)

Our Middle School

To support the transition from Year 6 into 7 and beyond, we have implemented an innovative approach to teaching and learning with our Middle School model. 

Middle School flyer  (PDF 4.1MB)


Wellbeing for schools is a strengths-based approach across all NSW public schools, so that every student can connect, succeed and thrive at school and beyond.

Student wellbeing has always been a top priority at James Meehan High School and we proudly deliver a culture of caring.

Wellbeing focus areas

Find more about the Department of Education Wellbeing initiatives here: Wellbeing for Schools DoE

Student engagement at JMHS


The National Assessment Program – Literacy and Numeracy (NAPLAN) is an annual assessment for students in Years 3, 5, 7 and 9.

NAPLAN tests the sorts of skills that are essential for every child to progress through school and life, such as reading, writing, spelling and numeracy. The assessments are undertaken nationwide, every year, in the second full week in May.

NAPLAN is made up of tests in the four areas (or ‘domains') of:

  • reading
  • writing
  • language conventions (spelling, grammar and punctuation)
  • numeracy.



Students in Years 7 and 8 have their subjects set by the Department of Education, as students must complete a required number of courses in Key Learning Areas (mandatory courses).